St. Augustine's and Its Governance

The government, conduct, management and control of the Seminary are vested in the Board of Governors, as stated in the St. Augustine's Seminary Act (1983) and outlined in the By-laws of the Board of Governors (1985, and amended in 1988, 1989, 2005, 2011, 2014 and 2015). The day-to-day operating authority of St. Augustine's is the Rector in consultation with the President who conducts the business of the Seminary with the co-operation of the Academic Council and of the Formation Council.


Matters of appointment, promotion, and termination are carried out in accordance with the general norms of academic procedure established by the Association of Theological Schools, those of the Toronto School of Theology, and those laid down by the Board of Governors of St. Augustine’s Seminary, and in accordance with the provisions of Canon Law (cf. can. 253).


2018-2019 Board of Governors


Ex-Officio Members

His Eminence Thomas Cardinal Collins Archbishop of Toronto and Chairman of the SAS Board of Governors


Most Reverend John A. Boissonneau     Senior Vicar General

Most Reverend Wayne Kirkpatrick        President

Most Reverend Vincent Nguyen              Vicar for Permanent Deacons

Reverend Luis Melo                                     Academic Dean

Mr. James Milway                                         Chancellor of Temporal Affairs of the Archdiocese of Toronto and Treasurer of SAS


Elected Members

Reverend Edwin Gonsalves, Rector

Dr. Randy Boyagoda 
Ms. Francesca Guolo 
Dr. Daniel W. Lang 
Sr. Mechtilde T. O'Mara, C.S.J. 
Mr. Paul John Podesta

Ms. Magda Soligo
Reverend. Jerry Tavares

Assessor Member: Mr. Thurstan Berkeley SAS Bursar 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.